Uncategorized

Charlotte Brontë

Hi m’lovelies!

Long time no post, I know. School life is pretty new and I’m still adjusting to it and let’s just say I took this time out for a cheeky lil’ bit o’ personal development. Nonetheless, without further ado, let’s get on with today’s blog post!

Charlotte Brontë. A classic novelist. A female inspiring. A daring and challenge-minded woman. I read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë recently and just watched the 2011 film rendition. My thoughts were “Holy crow, this is shamazing!”

Repressed desires, male oppression, the social status during the Victorian era, the desire to be equal, the idea of being an independent and strong-willed woman in a time where women were thought so little of.. yeah you can see why this novel is amazing. Every character was carefully crafted. Jane’s development was beautiful to watch, the Reeds wanted me to mentally shoot them, Mr Rochester played my heartstrings, Helen Burns was just beautiful, Miss Temple was gracious, Mr Brocklehurst was a pig and Bertha Mason was interesting but just bloody scary!

It’d be an honour if Charlotte Brontë was still living and writing. A true honour. But in the meantime, I think I shall get on to Wuthering Heights. Yeah I like romantic books indeed. Let me know your favourite classic novel/novel in the comments! 🙂

But until next time, au revoir! ^-^
Imogen x

Standard

Leave a Reply

